The Milky Way's Black Hole

In 2020 the Nobel Prize was awarded to Sir Roger Penrose for his theoretical work on black holes and to Andrea Ghez and Reinhard Genzel for discovering the super massive black hole at the centre our galaxy, the Milky Way.

The Milky Way's Black Hole

Close on their tail for the Nobel Prize was the Event Horizon team for producing the very first direct image of a black hole. Unfortunately for them they are only able to award the Nobel Prize to a maximum of 3 people, regardless of how most science experiments like these involve tens or even hundreds of scientists.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

1 × four =